Through and Through

IMG_1956

Happy New Years. I could tell you story after story about 2014. I learned how to be vulnerable, how to take on the role of a leader, how to pursue and love people, how to pray with steadfastness, and how to be confident. I experienced heartbreak, forgiveness, jealousy, overwhelming joy, thankfulness, anger, abundant love, and grace. He has given me a story of Restoration, and I am the mouth piece that gets tell that story, with my own remarks and remembrances, to the ones that I love (you, my readers).

But there is a little more to the story — my story is not yet finished. Here is His promise for the year 2015 (to me and you) and here is my response, to myself, from myself, that I can look back upon as He continues to restore me:

“May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul, and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord, Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it.” 1 Thessalonians 5:23-24 NIV

Dear heart, what hope is this! He won’t stop a good work until it is finished (Philippians 1:6). He will do as He promised; He will sanctify me through and through. When my heart is torn asunder this is what He is doing: perfecting, molding, and building. A restoration is in progress. His hands are sure and steady, they are strong yet gentle. He is pulling me into his righteousness so soft and sweet. So why don’t I let Him? Why do I hold on to this spirit, soul, and body that has been designed by the creator to be recreated?

He has created me perfectly so that I may be sculpted into His goodness. Being fearfully and wonderfully made means that I have been made complexly; this sinner’s body, spirit, and soul has the capability (through Jesus) to transform into and become righteousness (Psalm 139:14; 1 Peter 2:9; 2 Corinthians 5:21). What joy that my soul now and my completely holy soul, when He is done perfecting me, has the ability to bring Him glory and praise! What is for my good is surely for His glory (Romans 8:28).

Right here, right now, He is doing the work He has promised and He is not unsatisfied with the unfinished work. Even “in progress,” He claims me as His craftsmanship (Ephesians 2:10). When my anger and pride push away His holiness – and they will – He cares for me, a disobedient daughter, with the love of the perfect Father.

When my heavy and entitled hands bruise the Earth and when I cry “Father, why have you taken away the things that I love?” He holds me ever so patiently. Without anger or irritation he whispers lovingly, “Daughter, it is for your good. I have not yet made your heart wise enough to see the purpose for this pain, but if you trust me, and I want you to trust me, it is for your restoration (1 Peter 5:10-11). Put your trust in me and I will give you peace.”

Dear Daughter, He is promising good through and through. Trust Him. He loves you.

It is my prayer that you can replace the “me,” and “I,” with “you,” “we,” and “us.” He has a story for 2015, trust that it will be the year He makes you more like Him through and through, and time and time, again.

xx, Hannah

Published by

hmblaisdell

twenty-something learning to become His daughter

One thought on “Through and Through”

Leave a comment